Alaska Baseball League

Alaska Baseball League News Feed

Pilots 5, Oilers 1

on Jul 27, 2013

And just like that, another baseball season is in the books.

The Anchorage Glacier Pilots defeated the Peninsula Oilers 5-1 on Saturday at Coral Seymour Memorial Park in Kenai to close out the regular-season slate for both Alaska Baseball League teams.

The Oilers finish at 18-17 in the league, good for fourth place, while the Pilots finish in fifth at 17-18. The Alaska Goldpanners of Fairbanks clinched the ABL title Friday by sweeping a doubleheader from the Mat-Su Miners.

The Pilots will play in a season-ending ABL tourney, but the Oilers will not play in that tournament or the National Baseball Congress World Series in Wichita, Kan.

The Pilots jumped on Oilers starter and loser Logan McAnallen early.

With one out in the top of the first, Kevin Garcia singled. After striking out Brody Russell, McAnallen yielded a triple to Kewby Meyer. Chris Hoo then doubled to score Meyer and put the Pilots up 2-0.

The Oilers began to claw back in the bottom of the third against Pilots starter and winner Michael RoBards.

Michael Hoo, who is the brother of Chris Hoo, walked to start the inning. After Mike Wieland struck out, Adam Sonabend singled to put runners on first and third. Andre Mercurio then drove in Hoo with a fly ball to center field.

But that would be all the Oilers would get against a stingy Pilots staff. RoBards went eight innings and yielded four hits, while Sean Adler pitched a hitless and scoreless ninth.

The Pilots tacked on three insurance runs against Dylan Silva in the ninth.

Sonabend paced the Oilers with a pair of hits.