Alaska Baseball League

Alaska Baseball League News Feed

Goldschmidt wins Hank Aaron Award

on Oct 27, 2013

From:: DiamondBack News:

It was announced today that Former Buc, D-backs  Paul Goldschmidt has won this year's Hank Aaron Award as the top hitter in the National League. (Miguel Cabrera was the recipient of the American League Honor) This is the first of what could be a trophy-case-purchase-necessary amount of awards for Paul Goldschmidt this offseason. He is up for the Gold Glove award for First Basemen, could very well win the Silver Slugger, and is an MVP candidate. Congratulations to Paul Goldschmidt!

The Hank Aaron Award was created in 1999 on the 25th anniversary of Aaron breaking Babe Ruth's Home Run record. There is one nominee from each team that is then voted on by a panel of Hall of Famers and fans.